Treasure Box Tuesday

Happy Treasure Box Tuesday! I’ve been on the ball this week and started writing this post on Monday, when I should have been packing boxes and sorting out our flat, but procrastination won over and so here I am.

This week I’ve dug out a book we bought or Squigglet last year at a poetry reading, don’t go assuming that we’re all highbrow and cultured and everything, as that totally isn’t the case, but a friend was hosting a local poet evening and so we popped along to support her and came away with this lovely collection ‘A Child’s Book of Poems: All Throughout the Year’ which features works from various Welsh poets and beautiful illustrations with a seasonal theme.  I remember loving poetry as a kid, especially those of Australian poet Banjo Patterson and in particular his poem Mulga Bills Bycycle along with silly limericks that kept us entertained on long car journeys.  I still like writing poems in secret but don’t often share them out of embarrassment, but perhaps I will get up the courage to some day soon.  As we’ve just hit July, I thought I’d share one of the July poems in the book here:

Summer Storm by Phil Carradice

The night the storm came, dragons roared outside our window; their breath – bright lightening flashes – forked the far horizon. The old house trembled, flinching under each and every bang.

‘Come on’, said Dad and led us to the garden. We sat on the veranda, gasping as the rain fell in torrents like a waterfall.

‘Remember this’, Dad Said, It’s nature at her best.’ We sat on in the rain. Thunder crashed and Dad was never closer as summer slipped between my fingers.

The night the storm came and dragons roared outside our window.

As I was thinking back to the toys we used to play with as kids I suddenly remember hours of fun with Pick Up Sticks, such a simple premise but totally absorbing to the point it would stop me and my brother constantly bugging each other as we quietly concentrated on winning the game.  I’ll have to remember that for when Squigglet gets to the ‘I’m bored’ stage.  In fact, I reckon I might get a set for me and Io to play for evenings when Bananagrams are proving too challenging, which happens quite frequently after a glass or two of Pinot Noir.

Hours of fun for the whole family….or maybe more so mum and dad

Lastly a bit of homeware eye candy that the Eden Project shop sells in our soon to be home of Cornwall.  I’ve been coveting these lacquered bamboo and coconut shell bowls for a while now, they are stylish, fairtrade and come in a range of fun bright colours that will add flare to any dinner table or party setting. They are a little on the pricey side (salad bowls £34 small bowls £17.50) but I’ve spotted similar products in Sainsburys for about half the amount, although not sure about the fairtrade credentials of those ones.

Lacquered Bamboo Bowls

Funky coconut bowls

I think these may be making an appearance in our new place at some point over the coming months, just have decide which colour!

Over and out for another Tuesday….

Posted on July 3, 2012, in Cool Activities wth Kids, General, Global Family Culture, Lifestyle, Toys & Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What are your thoughts on the topic?

